Thread: sensitivity of Daguerreotype

sensitivity of Daguerreotype

Firstly I hope the this is a right forum to post this question.

I'm researching old processes a bit. It's probably because I'm a trained chemist and therefore a nut . But for a start my question is quite simple: do anybody knows the sensitivity of Daguerreotype in modern ISO values?

Cheers,
    Marko

Re: sensitivity of Daguerreotype

I do wet plate, not dags, but I feel safe in saying it would be less than an ISO of 1 or even less. Light meters are essentially of no use, so it doesn't really do any good to know the ISO.

Hello Marko-

I made a few small (1/6 plate) dags back in the mid-1980s in Austin, Texas, using TLR cameras. Hazy or overcast days yielded irregular results but on bright sunny days, my exposure was F/8 @ 4-8 seconds. Mind you, I used only iodine and no bromine. A few experiments with Becquerel development dropped the speed by perhaps a couple of stops (alas my memory is a tad fuzzy on those).

Also made a few on pure copper, no silver plating, as J. C. Burnett suggested in period. Lovely for skin tones.

Good luck,

Russ

Quote Originally Posted by russyoung View Post
    Hello Marko-

I made a few small (1/6 plate) dags back in the mid-1980s in Austin, Texas,

Also made a few on pure copper, no silver plating, as J. C. Burnett suggested in period. Lovely for skin tones.

Good luck,

Russ
    I would be very interested in knowing HOW you got an image to form on a copper sheet, as the Silver reacting with the iodide vapors in the sensitizing stage, is what creates the photosensitive layer. Without the silver plating on the copper sheet I don't see how you would have a photosensitive plate?

A traditional plate is roughly .05 ISO, while a becquerel plate is about .005 ISO. However, since they are sensitive only to blue and UV light using a regular meter does not always provide accurate measurements.

Quote Originally Posted by Gene McCluney View Post