Thread: Hi from Seattle

Hi from Seattle

Hi all, I've been lurking around here for quite a while now (well, about a year) and registered before I acquired any large format gear myself. I've been shooting a bit of Large Format now since last summer (2008) and I really love it, especially now that I've worked out some major bugs with my camera.

I'm using a Tachihara 4x5, and have ended up with 90, 150, and 210mm lenses in my collection now.

I'm a bit of a social recluse, which means I like to be out there shooting quiet landscapes. I started off just trying to take better photos of places I was visiting/vacation shots... that kind of thing, but the photography bug quickly took over as my driving force.

You can find my photography at:
    www.tylerwestcott.com or www.flickr.com/photos/mumbleyjoe

and specifically my large format shots at
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/mumbley...7607910760502/

I have much much much to learn, but know that I'm in the right place to do that.

(also, I've never met another large format shooter in person, and therefore never been out shooting with another LF shooter. It's certainly tough keeping up with someone else when they're only shooting digital - which I also do)

Re: Hi from Seattle

Welcome to group therepy, Joe!

We use the 12-step program here, except instead of curing you of being a LF photographer, it increases your addiction. Once into the program, your addiction becomes absolute to where you camera bag is always by the front door ready on the moment's notice the light is "just right" and you have to go. And you'll know you've fallen into the abyss of LF photography when you starting wondering about adding equipment.

Then not even loved ones can save you. And then when there's talk about vacations, you'll say, "I wonder where I could take the camera. There's gotta be good shots to take."
    --Scott--

Scott M. Knowles, MS-Geography
    scott@wsrphoto.com

"All things merge into one, and a river flows through it."