Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Here we go: purchasing a 4x5 kit of my own... suggestions?

Here we go: purchasing a 4x5 kit of my own... suggestions?

Hello all,

I have admired and visited this site for awhile and finally have decided to sign up as I am finally in the market to purchase a large format kit. I've been shooting large format for four years now (mostly as an undergraduate student) and have experimented with several different cameras both field and rail. As I move out to Boston soon to start graduate school, I was hoping to purchase a field camera.

At my undergraduate school we had two of the low end Toyo 45CF kits. They always performed and I have had a great history with them, but am thinking about upgrading as this is a kit I plan on using for decades. I was wondering what you all would recommend. The Wista's are really blowing me away as well as the metal Toyos. Tilting and shifting with both standards is not a necessity.

Thanks so much
    Erik

Re: Here we go: purchasing a 4x5 kit of my own... suggestions?

Call Jim at Midwest Photo and see what he can do for you. They've provided outstanding service in the past for me.

Mike
    Politically, aerodynamically, and fashionably incorrect.

I would opt for a new Shen-Hao 4x5 in black walnut. They have all the movements you will likely need, are robustly constructed, and if you buy it from Badger Graphic, has the service behind the sale that is second to none. The purchase of a new camera takes all the guess work out of how well a camera was cared for by previous owners. I bought a Busch Pressman D a few years ago, and while it will outlive me, it has its quirks and the pinhole leaks that are a yearly maintenance item. I will be buying a Shen-Hao 5x7 FDL to replace it next year. I do extreme closeups, so the extra bellows length on the 5x7 is necessary while only weighing in at 6 lbs.