Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: another newbie :) choosing the right camera.

Smile another newbie :) choosing the right camera.

Hello!

I'm sorry to bother with this kind of question, I browsered on the forum and saw you got plenty, but some advices would be very helpful

I'm a student in photography, I've been using a cambo, a sinar (both very heavy) and a toyo field camera at uni, but I don't really excel in it, I try to do things too fast, and sometime screw it up.

The fact is that I'm planning to do a project during the summer and I'd like to buy a large format camera for myself. I would like to be able to have more time to prepare for it.

I'm mainly looking for something light, but also very cheap.

the project I'm working on is going to be in some ice rinks and I'm thinking to buy a 90mm super angulon (would it be a good choice of lens?)

I found a calumet N45 camera for about 250$ in very good condition with a lot of extras, and also a Gandolfi Variant (is on ebay I'm still waiting to see what the price will be) for cheap but I don't know if I could mount the 90mm lens on the field camera. Would it still work? Would I be able to straighten the lines with it?
    I will probably mainly shoot architectural stuff, but I'm a small girl and don't want to walk with a very heavy camera.

so the main things are : light, cheap, wide angle

I hope that some of you could help me, I would ask my tutors, but we are on spring break and I would really like to get started.

cheers and thanks!

p.s. I just discovered this website, and I'm speechless it's really a great resource!

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

Re: another newbie :) choosing the right camera.

The Gandolfi Variant can take lenses down to 47mm, so that will be a good camera for your use.

thank you! Will I be able to make all the movement and the architectural lines straight with that camera?

Widows and Orphans Beware