Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: safelight question

safelight question

Perhaps I'm dense. I'm just learning contact printing, by trial and error (mostly error). The paper I am using is Ilford MGIV and (as I recall), it says something like "use amber or brown safelight". I need a safelight, and the guy that sold me the paper said I could just use a small red bulb.

I get that the amber is preferable, but do I need it? Is it merely that you are safer longer with amber than red, or will red rapidly fog the film?

Thanks for the help. Tim

Octogenarian

Re: safelight question

Multigrade IV is a fast variable contrast paper. It has a (slight) sensitivity to red. Long time exposure to red light could possibly cause fogging.

Ilford recommends using a safelight that is specific for their VC paper.

If you were contact printing with a slower, less sensitive to red paper, such as AZO, it would be okay to use a red safelight.

Most modern paper manufacturers suggest using amber(OC) safelights. A few older style emulsions (Adox/Efke) recommend only red(1A) safelights. My understanding is that red is your safest default light. A test is easy. Simply place a piece of paper face up under the light and place a coin on the paper. After several minutes of exposure, develop the paper. If the area under the coin is lighter than the rest, the paper is not safe under the light. Even if the light is not safe to use, you can try switching to a lower wattage bulb (7.5w) and turn the light around so that it shines indirectly against the wall or ceiling. Additionally, you can move the light further away from the paper thereby lowering the amount that hits the paper. Those steps may be enough to safeguard your paper against fogging for several minutes.