Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tilt/shift problem with wide angle..

tilt/shift problem with wide angle..

I am new to LF.. got the horseman 5x4" camera and recently bought second-hand SA f8/65. Apparently it has been originally made for 6x9 camera but fortunately lots people use it for the 5x4 too. / by fortunately I mean for me 'cause I did not know it was 6x9 originally /.

What surprises me is that all I read everywhere is that there is no room for tilt/shift with the wide angle lenses.

I might be dummy but I have one very simple thought. would not it help to produce special lens board that would bring the lens deeper to the camera body so that there wouldn't be need to compress the bellows so close together?

Any respond will be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Karel

Preston Birdwell

Re: tilt/shift problem with wide angle..

Karel,

There are basically two options...

1. A recessed lens board.

2. A bag bellows.

Recessed lens boards do allow the lens to be closer to the film plane, but don't leave much room (if any) for fingers or to attach a cable release.

Without knowing the model of your Horseman, I don't know if a bag bellows can be used on it.

If it is possible to attach a bag bellows, this, I think, would be the best alternative.

-Preston
    Preston-Columbia CA

"If you want nice fresh oats, you have to pay a fair price. If you can be satisfied with oats that have already been through the horse; that comes a little cheaper."

That does make sense.. I certainly forgot that I need the room to operate the lens.

I will be able to use the bag bellows on my Horseman. That I know for certain. But I thought that this would be the minimum requirement for using this lenses..?

Does it mean that using the bag bellows gives you reasonable space for the tilt/shift movements? Or is it just extra few millimeters on the top of the nothing?

..thanks Preston
    Best
    Karel