Thread: Old 4x5 camera for personal, still-life project

Old 4x5 camera for personal, still-life project

Hello, this is my first post here. I regularly use DSLRs, but I have an idea for a series of still-life photos, where I would like to get into large format film photography. Perfection is not my quest, rather I am looking for equipment with history. It may sound weird, but it is important to me that the equipment I use for this project has history, both camera and lens. I would prefer to use 4x5 format. So I would be looking for old, probably wooden cameras, and old lenses. But I am completely new to LF photography, what should I look for? I am not a millionaire, so I am not looking for Deardorff equipment, beautiful as it seems to be. Hope you can help.

Re: Old 4x5 camera for personal, still-life project

Look in the classifieds here, and also on www.apug.org/classifieds/index.php, Craiglist, http://photo.net/gc/domain-multi?sor...y=Large+Format ...

There's lots of cameras with lots of history getting sold out there, and with prices forced low by digital, now is a good time to look around.

I think there are probably too many suitable brands and models of cameras for me or anyone to say you should buy "X" or "Y". Find something with a good bellows and use it as a cheeeeeep learning experience. Then, if you feel a need to acquire a different set of features in a camera, you'll know better what you want.

C

watch the photographic section of ebay, it gives you some idea of whats about and what it costs

bob