Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What were Weston and Adam's darkroom like?

What were Weston and Adam's darkroom like?

Mostly my interest is in sinks and plumbing, but feel free to chime in with other details if you know them....

I figure Edward Weston probably couldn't afford a big stainless steel sink -- so what did he use? Did he just use regular well water and a propane hot water tank for that cabin?

I figure Ansel Adams probably had the best of everything. What kinds of sinks did he have and how many linear feet long were they? How exotic was his plumbing? (Sorry, I know there is a bad joke coming from that line.)

Re: What were Weston and Adam's darkroom like?

I don't know about Weston, but there are quite a few pictures of Ansel's darkroom in his three volume series on photography. I also have a Video on Ansel Adam (made towards the end of his career) that has a few scenes shot in his darkroom.

I studied photography at the Univ of Oregon back in 1976. The prof there was friends with many of the big names in west coast view camera art and commercial photography. Brett Weston often came up from California to show us darkroom chemistry tricks like how to use Amidol. (Darkened fingernails from using Amidol were all the rage, as print tongs were out of the question. (If you look closely at shots of EW you can see his blacken fingernails.) We actually had Edward Weston's old Ries tripod in our equipment closet for use with the loaner 8x10.

There's a lot about how Edward Weston worked in his two daybooks. I do remember that he contact printed his 8x10 work, using a bare light bulb. He had a separate building at his rustic place in Carmel for his darkroom.

I still remember the first time I saw Brett Weston's prints in our crit room. They were amazingly beautiful.

I also remember reading about Stieglitz. He had a makeshift darkroom in a shed at his Lake George house. In the winter he used a trough to wash his prints, where had to break away the ice.