Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Black coating on 665 pack P/N, what a mess!

Black coating on 665 pack P/N, what a mess!

Howdy,

I am a newbie to Polaroid pack 665 (thanks to all for your previous help on load ing it!) --- have now shot a few packs of it and cannot figure out the safest wa y to get the black backing off. It comes off in the water bath, but in many smal l globs which get all over my hands and everything else, ruining the water bath for the next shot. The pictorial instructions on the Polaroid website show it c oming off nicely in a big blob, but even when I get that to happen (rarely), it soils my hands. I am working with this on the street and can't wash my hands. Mo ist towelettes, etc, are not good enough -- this is a real mess. Invariably som e negs get scratched as I fumble about. Yuck! Thanks for any advice.

Sandy:

I periodically use Type 55 P/N film in the field to produce quick negatives and avoid darkroom fatigue. My practice has always been to remove the film packet without processing and return home to treat and wash the film negative. Is there a reason you need to process the film in the field? Does your Polaroid holder allow you to release the film packet without processing? Alternatively, have you tried using a dedicated accesssory tank which separates each negative?

Hi Dave, I wish it worked like the Type 55, but unfortunately you do have to process it right away. When you pull out the film it starts the gel developer. I'm using a 6x9 Arca-Swiss camera so I can't use Type 55. Yes, I should find a better water tank to keep the negs separated from each other, but I think I'd still get gunk on my hands. I just wonder if this is how it's supposed to be --- is anyone able to get this backing off in one piece consistently? Cheers, Sandy