Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bellow extension expsosure help!

Bellow extension expsosure help!

Hey!

I'm just a little bit confused with bellow extension exposure, I know what it means and stuff but i'm just wondering if it applies to me and my camera, but I still have trouble understanding the ones with mathematical formulas haha!

I use a sinar F2, Will I need to use bellow extension exposure if I have the bellow stretched out completely on the standard Sinar rail? or does it only count when I add a second rail/bellows for like, say, macro stuff?

If It does occur with it extended on the standard rail, can anyone recommend me what they view as the best one to use? I saw the bellow exposure with bacon video and I wasn't sure if that was for me cause I would be doing full body environmental portraits and it would be hard to measure that little paper.

Thanks everyone! I'm still learning

Dave.

Re: Bellow extension expsosure help!

Divide the extension by the focal length of the lens. Then square it. Can be done mentally. If you want, use the calculator on your cell phone. If your extension is 300mm and you are using a 150mm lens then you have 2^2=4. Quick and simple.

If the object you are photographing is about more than 10 times the size of your film, you don't need to bother with it.

Once upon a time I enjoyed math. Now I am perfectly happy to rely on a foolproof calculator from Calumet that allows you to put a small chip in the scene and measure it on a scale at the ground glass. The scale gives you the exposure adjustment and is dead accurate. Truly a no brainer.

If memory serves, there is a downloadable version on this site. You might try searching.
    "One of the greatest necessities in America is to discover creative solitude." Carl Sandburg

I like the analogy of a spraygun. When you pull it back further from the wall, you have to spray longer for the same thickness of paint.