Thread: X Ray Machines at Airports and Fogged Film

X Ray Machines at Airports and Fogged Film

I recently forgot to take hand carry on a box of unexposed 4x5 HP5 Sheet Film. It went thought baggage check in my suitcase and was X Rayed. When I later did a film test and looked at the edge of the film my "eye ball" method of checking the film looked about 1.5 to 2 zones more dense over the base. I shot two images and developed at the same time and with the same chemistry adgtation etc.

Don't believe the TSA when they say there will be no damage!

I have always found the TSA to be cooperative if asked to hand inspect film. I also always get in the first class line when going through security. I indicate that I am a photographer on assignment. This has always got me though with no problems. Once the TSA asked to show my field camera to the staff so they could see one of these cameras for real.
    Wally Brooks

Everything is Analog!
    Any Fool Can Shoot Digital!
    Any Coward can shoot a zoom! Use primes and get closer.

lazy retired bum

Re: X Ray Machines at Airports and Fogged Film

Sorry this happened to you. It is well known that film placed in baggage is subject to x ray damage because of the strength of the machine used for checked baggage. I have still not seen evidence of film damage from the machines used for carry on and I have carried 400 speed film from the US to Africa and back. The TSA actually does caution against placing any film in checked bags.

Eric

Hopelessly Lost

yeah, it is well documented and warned against checking film. Also, with going through the carry on scanner, it is cumulative so dont go through, say 8 of them. I try to limit it at 4 passes max, regardless of emulsion or speed, just to be safe. At that point, you are better off just shipping the film to the lab. Lucky that the film was unexposed.
    www.hollisbennett.com

Huh? Oh, right, keep moving.

Quote Originally Posted by ki6mf View Post