Thread: Camera help! 617 5x7?

Camera help! 617 5x7?

Hi everybody

I've been trying to read the mountain of information contained on this site, but it's a bit difficult to sift through

I'm very new to LF, and am looking for a camera that will accept a 617 back (like Canham's 5x7's). I've seen some threads indicating some people have 4x5s that will accept a 617, although the math doesn't seem to work out for me (as 17cm is almost 50% bigger than the 5 inch back).

That said, I also seem to be drawn toward 5x7 for the increased size, as I like to print very big.

So, what would you recommend? Just pick up a Canham 5x7 with a Canham 617 back? They're sparsely sold on ebay; in the last 2 months or so, there's only been 2 sold, one around $1600 and the other unknown, but under $1800. Are there cheaper/not too inferior solutions?

Thanks for any help

AJ

Re: Camera help! 617 5x7?

The Chinese made 6x17 roll film adapters which can be mounted to a 4x5 camera are limited to use with short focal length lenses (think of a cone of light coming back to the film from the lens). I didn't find any good alternatives to the Canham 6x17 back so I chose the MQC57 + 6x17 back. The other advantage of the 5x7 is a longer bellows.

Popping off the GG to put the roll film back on the camera isn't a instantaneous operation but isn't a deal breaker either.

Good luck with your choice.

Hey AJ,

Welcome (I see your posts quite often on FM ). I'm fairly new to the LF world as well, but before purchasing a 4x5 camera, I considered what would be the best camera for me as well. From the research I did, I gathered a few tid bits that might help you.

1) Some people say you can and others say that you cannot shoot 6x17 on a 4x5 camera. After some research, you CAN shoot 6x17 on a 4x5 camera with a third-party roll film back. I'm guessing that as long as you have a lens with a large enough image circle, you shouldn't have any problems in terms of coverage.