Thread: NeNewbie question about recording image information

NeNewbie question about recording image information

Hello everybody.I recently started shooting 4X5 color transparencies.So far I only used quickloads and than use lab for development.Can somebody share experience what is the best way to record information about each image I make .Do you ask the lab to keep information you recorded attached to the developed slide?
    Thanks,
    Vlad.

Peter

Re: NeNewbie question about recording image information

Some of my film holder have notches in the flap that the dark slide slides into when the holder is light tight. When I pull out the dark slide to make an exposure, the notches get recorded on the film. Then I know which shot came from which holder, and I can refer to my notes that I keep in a notebook. See attachment.
    Asking the lab to help you keep track of which note goes with which film, is asking for trouble, especially if the lab employs several people that your film get handed off to as your order progresses through the system.

Peter

The simplest approach is to take notes along the way, recording the information you think will be useful/important, and then archiving that information along with the negatives. How you do this is your choice - I use a small notebook that stays in my backpack, other options include PDA's, sound recorders, etc.

I number my holders and record the information against the holder number. One of the things that I note is a brief description of the subject, and its usually a simple matter to later identify the subject by examining the processed sheet. On rare occasions, I will make multiple exposures of the same subject with some variation between exposures (such as filtration or +/- processing). In those instances, noting the holder number makes it possible to separate holders in the darkroom.