Thread: Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar Lens???? (help)

Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar Lens???? (help)

HELP!

I need some help and info about a lens that I recently bought. I have just purchased my first large format camera, though I've been a shooter for many years (using 35 and 2-1/4).

While at a flea market, I picked up a 4X5 enlarger for parts (it cost me a whomping $10). and I found this lens on it:

it is a ring-mount lens; and I'm pretty sure its for a 4X5 camera, but I coul d be wrong.

It's marking are "COMPUR" on the name plate; "Contessa" and "Nettel" on the top, and it has a numbering of "D.R.P. No 258646 D.R.G.M." on it. What does any of this mean?

The barrel of the lens itself has the following info:

Tessar 1=6.3 f=16.5 cm (which of course makes it a 165mm ƒ/6.3) But what does "tessar" mean?

It is a Carl Zeiss Jena. What does "jena" mean?

Sorry to seem so ignorant on most of this; I'm new to the large format game; and I'd love to find out if this lens was a lucky treasure or just a nice pape rweight...

Please Drop me an email at Bob@eyekonpho to.com if you can help with any info on this!

Thanks!!!

Re: tessar . The Tessar is a 4 element formula in three groups. Acoording to Rog er Hicks in a recent View Camera article the Tessars with f6.3 max aperture are fine lenses. If uncoated it will be somewhat more prone to flare in backlight an d deliver somewhat lower contrast than a more modern coated lens. The coverage s hould be more than adequate for 4x5. Compur is the shutter manufacturer. Contess a, Nettel was a folding plate and sheet film camera, probably 9x12cm(31/3x41/4) DRP stands for Deutsches Reichs Patent -German Imperial patent. Sorry don't reca ll what the DRGM stans for. Jena was the city where Carl Zeiss company manufatur ed the lens. I'd say yopu got a very good deal. Enjoy. Eric Lohse