Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Strange Negs with Pyrocat MC

Eric Biggerstaff

Strange Negs with Pyrocat MC

So, I just finished a batch of negs from my recent trip to Yosemite which were developed in Pyrocat MC.

When I pulled the negs from the Jobo, the image looked like a positive as opposed to a negative! That is strange.

I am pretty new to this developer and mixed it according to the directions at 1+1+100. I used distilled water.

I will probably not develop the remaining negatives in this developer as I am pretty nervous at this point, don't want to lose anymore.

Anyone have an idea of what is going on?
    Eric Biggerstaff

www.ericbiggerstaff.com

Re: Strange Negs with Pyrocat MC

try proofing them and see what you get before making any decisions or processing any more.

steve simmons

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Biggerstaff View Post
    So, I just finished a batch of negs from my recent trip to Yosemite which were developed in Pyrocat MC.

When I pulled the negs from the Jobo, the image looked like a positive as opposed to a negative! That is strange.

I am pretty new to this developer and mixed it according to the directions at 1+1+100. I used distilled water.

I will probably not develop the remaining negatives in this developer as I am pretty nervous at this point, don't want to lose anymore.

Anyone have an idea of what is going on?
    At the risk of asking the obvious, are you sure that you are processing negatives and not transparencies? Is the film notch correct?

I have seen thin and dense and mottled and banded and many strange things between these ends but never a positive image from negative materials. Maybe Sandy can chime in.

I would go back to D76 or Xtol (or your regular developer) with these negatives.

I have always had good luck with Pyrocat. Did you mix this from scratch or from a kit?

Cheers!

Eric,

You may have under-exposed the negatives . If so, they might look like positives if viewed under certain light.