Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Paper developers

Paper developers

I'm in need of some guidance in the paper developer department! I'm a college student working in a college darkroom where they use Lauder paper developer (roughly the same as Dektol) and Lauder Rapid Fix.

I shoot 4x5 FP4+ and develop in PMK. I've pretty much ironed out everything on that side of my system. And it seems pointless to go to all that effort and do nothing to perfect the printing side of the darkroom. It's been recommended that I stick with the Lauder Dektol developer, but also use Selectol-soft. I'm going to start using TF4 fix, as the Lauder seems to bleach highlights. I poked around and I'm intrigued by Amidol, but turned off by the short shelf life. Photo Formulary's F130 seems like a nice alternative.

Again, I'm using FP4+ in PMK, and printing on Ilford MGIV Fiber paper. I'm pretty much looking for a developer that will allow some smooth midtones and highlights, but still give me those occasional intense blacks. I think that covers the logistics.

Can anyone throw me some recommendations or suggestions? I'd love to just go on a buying spree and test a ton of developers, but the college thing kinda puts the finances in a pinch. I think I'm already favoring the F130. Has anyone compared F130 and Dektol/Selectol-soft?

Thanks guys and gals,
    James

Re: Paper developers

Quote Originally Posted by jwarren116 View Post
    Can anyone throw me some recommendations or suggestions? I'd love to just go on a buying spree and test a ton of developers, but the college thing kinda puts the finances in a pinch. I think I'm already favoring the F130. Has anyone compared F130 and Dektol/Selectol-soft?
    Try some regular Kodak dektol first at 1:2 and then maybe 1:3 and see how it compares to the lauders. Should be easy to find.

I have some friends who really like Edwal LPD (and the fact it has a really long tray life.)

-Darren

Big Negs Rock!