Thread: Good ground glass vs. bad ground glass

Good ground glass vs. bad ground glass

I just picked up a Kodak 2D 8x10 camera and I'm wondering about some issues with the ground glass that was included. The ground glass looks homemade with pencil drawn grid lines and slightly sloppy corner cuts, but the big issue is the evenness of illumination. The lens on the camera is huge-- a Schneider Symmar S 240mm f/5.6, so I feel like I should be getting a nice bright image on the ground glass, but the image is a little dimmer than I'd expect and there's a terrible hot spot problem. The ground glass shows a hot spot on axis with each of my eyes so much that it gives me a headache to look at the ground glass with both eyes open. Does this seem like a poorly made ground glass issue? Do I need a fresnel for the slightly wide 240mm? I have no experience with 8x10, so I'm not sure what to expect, but I'm assuming this isn't normal.

Dave Karp

Re: Good ground glass vs. bad ground glass

The groundglass on my Improved Seneca was OK, but the corner cuts were not uniform. The Satin Snow that replaced it is light years nicer. The GG and Ektalite Fresnel on my Crown Graphic are also light years ahead of the Seneca GG, so I would say that perhaps it is the difference between 1920s and 1950s glass technology.