Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Four dollars a gallon.

Four dollars a gallon.

Photographer Ruth Bernhard had always stated that the best photographs were those taken thirty feet from your front door. Imogen Cunningham also did a lot of photography that was either close to home or ”In the neighborhood”. And Photographer Ansel Adams did a lot of traveling for his personal photography; Edward Weston did some limited traveling, when he had the funds. But he also had the best place to photograph, Point Lobos, Calif. To date, I believe many of us do a lot of driving and flying for our photography. This is part of being a photographer, I would suspect.
    I had just read that the forecast of gas prices might hit four dollars a gallon and I would like to hear from you if you plan to do any traveling? Do you plan to take fieldtrips, workshops, attend photography events or do you plan to stay close to home and plan day trips. If you are planning to travel. How? By car, plane or train. How far? Do you plan to stay closer to your home area or go out?
    When I photograph, I find that I usually work by myself. Not that I’m anti-social but photography is a private time for me. I like to look, see, study what I’m photographing and then take my time. A rush photograph looks just like that rushed. I never go with my wife or kids. They just don’t get it. “It’s hurry, hurry hurry. We want to go.”
    I do once in awhile go with other photographers because I also do enjoy the comradely of what we do. I don’t do much photography then and do more talking shop or listening to stories of my companions. Different aspect of photography but just as important to me.
    So, my next question to you is. Do you think with the coming price costs, do you see doing more carpooling?
    I would like to know what you have to say and share on this subject. I do see myself curtailing my outings to certain times, locations and destinations. What do plan to do?

Re: Four dollars a gallon.