Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Using graduated filters - what's your technique?

Using graduated filters - what's your technique?

I'm fairly new to LF and am having trouble seeing where to position my graduated ND filters (viewing through the ground glass).
    Last week I sat by a pond for half an hour in sub zero temperatures, waiting for the right moment, got the transparency back yesterday and am really pleased ...except I think the grad should have been slightly lower (where the sky met the land). So it's time to sort this out!
    I use Lee filters, and have possibly made a mistake in buying soft rather than hard graduated filters ... I'm suspecting that most people opt for hard because it's easier to see the 'join'.
    I've tried putting a piece of paper on the filter, aligned to the area where the filter graduates, but am really having trouble seeing the paper accurately through the ground glass.
    A friend suggested buying a bright orange graduated filter and using that as a measuring device.
    Before spending any more money, is there a generally accepted practical technique that works please? Thanks.

Re: Using graduated filters - what's your technique?

The hard edge grads are indeed easier to position, but with practice, soft filters can be handled easily too. My approach is to stop the lens down to the aperture at which I plan to shoot, and gently slide the filter up and down and rotate it back and forth until it appears to be in the right position. That's about it. A good dark cloth really helps.

Glenn Mellen

Hard edge grads my indeed be easier to position, but I rarely (really just about never) use them. If you use a wide angle lens and small aperture the dividing line shows up harshly in the image. The only time I use hard edge filters is for shots with a clearly defined horizon with nothing sticking above.