Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CLA'ing a shutter

CLA'ing a shutter

Hi,

I have a Turner-Reich 7.5 inch lens in a Rapax shutter I've been using for several years for 4X5 and 5X7 format. The shutter has developed some problems recently especially with the slower speeds.

I have had this shutter almost completely apart a couple years ago to repair a problem with the iris but I didn't clean or lubricate it then. It worked fine after that up till recently.

I could send it to SK Grimes but I thought I'd give it a try myself, since I've had it apart and got it back together successfully before.

I have obtained the repair manual for the Rapax shutter. My question is about the lubricants to use. The manual mentions a machine oil and a grease but doesn't give any specific manufacturers or specs for the oil and grease. Does anyone know which lubricants to use and where they could be obtained?

Thanks!

Zack

Re: CLA'ing a shutter

Two things, Zack. Both take you to Carol Miller at Flutotscamerarepair.com.

One, she is fantastic on CLA's, extremely reasonable at around $50.00 and sends you a complete chart on the marked and actual speeds on the finished job.

Second, if you are sure you want to do this yourself, the links on her site are extensive and you may find the lubricants you want in one of her contacts.

Good Luck.

Tim
    "One of the greatest necessities in America is to discover creative solitude." Carl Sandburg

I'd also suggest Carol. She recently CLA'd a 1970s Compur for me and it came back spot on at every time and everything is smooth.

I would imagine that there are much better lubricants available today than were specified for the shutter way back when. Tri-lube for instance is a bicycle chain lubricant that "dries" and won't leave a big mess. Something like this stays with the part but doesn't "freeze" in the cold. I would think this would be a good lubricant for the shutter internals.