Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 12x20 Where to begin!!

tim810

12x20 Where to begin!!

I am recieving my camera in about a week. It is a Richard Ritter 12x20 back and bellows. The rest is my Cambo 8x10 SC with some of my own fabrication mixed in. The lens I am going to have to start with is a 24" APO Ronar (The shutter is a 4x5 darkslide attached to a lens cap (my own fab). Finally, one film holder (till I can afford more). I picked up some Berger BPF200 film. I plan on only contact printing: POP, standard silver gel, and soon to come Carbon using BS carbon tissue and my own hardend papers.

I have been shooting LF for about 4 years. Most of which has been 8x10. The reason for this post is to make sure all my I are crossed and T's dotted.

I have no problem changing film, Developing film ( I am extra cautious with my records etc). The things I am wondering about have to with bits I have heard about increased problems with depth of field (what are the problems). My lens goes from F9-F260.

When I made the swich to LF I read everything I could get my hands on. There are no books that I am aware of that talk about ULF to any extent. Ther is about a paragraph in Steve Simmons book on LF.

What exactly should I look for in my transition. What are the biggest differences excluding the obvious (weight, size, handling of materials).

I just want a smooth transition to using this format. While I am shooting I see things that catch my eye and scream for this format. I have a list in my notebook of shots I want to make with this camera. Lots of verticals too (my favorite).

Any insight would be great
    Thanks all
    Tim

Re: 12x20 Where to begin!!

I don't shoot 12x20, but it all goes up exponentially. You will go through more solutions, will need sleeves for the negs and some way to store them; bigger paper to print on...
    Are you developing the film in trays?
    How are you managing to fit the Ritter back onto your Canham? I have the Canham Light Weight version...