Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pyro negatives low contrast

Pyro negatives low contrast

I am new to pyro and have only developed a few negatives. The first seemed ok but the last batch was very unsatisfactory. I used fp4 plus film and developed in trays of pmk pyro for 8 and 1/2 minutes according to the directions. I used tf4 fixer. I then contact printed the negatives and they all turned out very dull and extemely low contrast.
    They appeared muddy and a very gray color. I know there are many variables but
    does anyone have an idea what I may be doing wrong. They were developed in trays
    at 74degrees
    Jim

Bob

Re: Pyro negatives low contrast

Are you saying the negatives look muddy and gray or the contact prints. PMK negs look thin and a tad green if I remember correctly (haven't used it for a couple years), gray muddy contact prints sound like fogged paper.

The contact prints are the ones that look gray and muddy. I might try reprinting on different paper to see if that was the problem . Thanks
    Jim

James

I find that with Pyro negatives my normal starting filter pack is much higher than that of lets say same film developed in D76.

How do the negs look on the light box.... if ok I would suggest a higher paper grade.

If the negs do not look ok then you are back to the drawing board.

I find that with Pyro negatives my normal starting filter pack is much higher than that of lets say same film developed in D76.

There is no reason for this to be true unless you are underdeveloping your Pyro negs. Any of the staining developers are quite capable of priving negs that will print well on a vc or graded paper in the mid range of contrast.

The answer to the first question could be many

do the recent batch of negs look like the earlier batches?
    is your paper developer exhausted?
    was your paper fogged?

steve simmons

David Vickery

James,