Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What should be my next lens?

What should be my next lens?

I am new to LF and have a Tachihara field camera with the 150mm 5.6 that came with it. I am going on vacation soon and thought I would get a second lens. I shoot pretty much landscape only, some wildlife. I know it's somewhat subjective, but what would be a decent quality lens you would recommend for a non-pro with limited funds ? I should mention that I would need to buy used.

Cheers

Re: What should be my next lens?

With a little more information we can probably make a few suggestions- do you find yourself wishing you could zoom in more or would you like wider angles? what kind of price range are you looking into?

I use a fair range of lenses with my 4 x 5 from wide (65) to long (500) I used to tend toward the wider end, but as my vision has changed I now tend toward the other end completely.

I don't think that anyone could really give you good advice as for what to choose for your next lens, I think that comes from personal experience in the field and results on the light table.

Knowing my own history, if I were new to LF, I think that I would stay with the single 150 lens, and really learn how to see and work with that angle of view and perhaps more important to really learn how to control perspective and focal plane (scheimflug) which totally puts LF work apart from other fixed relationship photography.

my .02

Hi Coops,

I guess you do not try to shoot wildlife with your LF camera, do you? For landscapes, if I could only take two lenses on a trip, it would be a 150mm and a 90mm.