Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ilex Acuton 150mm f4.8 Looking for Info

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Ilex Acuton 150mm f4.8 Looking for Info

There's not much information on the Ilex Acuton lenses but i do have some on the 215 4.8 of which i have one. There's a little on the 180 but, nothing as far as i can tell on the 150 4.8
    It is as the 215 a convertible.

Anybody know something about the 150 and how they perform?

Thanks.

Re: Ilex Acuton 150mm f4.8 Looking for Info

I have no personal experience with this lens. I do have some circa 1970's (late 70's?) Ilex literature that says the combined lens covers an 8.2 inch diameter circle and the single cell covers an 8.6 inch diameter circle. Ilex seems to have had a rather ambitious lens program which included the convertible f/4.8 Acuton in three focal lengths and the and the wide angle f/8 Acugon (essentially the same design as the f/8 Super Angulon) in a 47, 65 and 90mm version as well as their four element f/6.3 Acutar in seven focal lengths.No mention is made that they were multicoated so I expect they weren't.
    David

Thanks David.
    The 215 Acuton is coated but it may be just a single coating. I don't have the 150 in hand yet so i can't tell.
    I suspect that the 6.3 Acutars are the same as the Calumet Caltars they are also coated but again maybe only a single coating.
    Was hoping that the 150 would cover 5x7 but can see that 8.2" is going to be a little tight.
    The Ilex litterature you have is that something that was made public in book or magazine format?
    Thanks again.

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

Quote Originally Posted by Jan L Pedersen View Post
    Thanks David.
    Was hoping that the 150 would cover 5x7 but can see that 8.2" is going to be a little tight...