Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Any way to speed up LF shots? (Family patience question)

Any way to speed up LF shots? (Family patience question)

The following is a question I posted in the MF forum. One of the responses sugg ested that the monorail was part of my problem and that if I used a field camera I might not feel the same. I have been planning on building or buying a field version, but didn't ever contemplate a gain in speed that would help enough to g et my wife and kids to hang out whilst I set up shots. I'm very new at LF so th ere's undoubtedly a lot I'm missing, but my impressions have been dictated by wh at I read here and elsewhere.

What I'd like to know is whether my assumption that LF is inherently a *lot* slo wer than MF is valid, or is there a way to alter my approach to speed up when th at is necessary? Said another way, does it have to be a lot slower composition and photographic process, or is that in part a function of my equipment or exper ience (i.e., lack of)?

Thanks in advance.

Chris

--------------------------- Disclaimer - I know this is ultimately a personal decision, but I would value yo ur experience and input. I have also exhaustively read the archives. My photogra phic interests primarily involve family/travel (color) and landscape/outdoor arc hitecture (mostly black and white developed myself, but some color as well). I s tarted with 35mm (currently a Nikon F100) and have added a 4x5 monorail. I love the 4x5 (for the landscape/outdoor architectural), but the reality of the time involved for a shot restricts its use to when I'm alone (rare) or with a p hotography buddy (rarer) as my wife and kids aren't *that* patient. The Nikon ha s ended up being used for the family/travel aspect, and for that it is really ov erkill.