Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Usage of Lake Placid image as a Post Card

Usage of Lake Placid image as a Post Card

I was just approached a few days ago by a New Hampshire based Postcard company looking to expand into the Adirondacks to use my Lake Placid photo for a Postcard. They offer $100 which is not much money. I have only used photos in the past for promotional invitations for my 10 solo exhibits including 2 in NYC. I have never really considered selling postcards since the photographer does not make much money on them.

I have been participating in Fine Art Shows for the past 11 years; I have cut back on my Art shows and am in the process of looking for gallery representation for my work. The Lake Placid photo is one of a series of 3 images that I sell as fine art. The 3 are shown below (the Lake Placid photo is the 2nd image). These images are the 3rd, 6th, and about the 10th (shown in order below) most successful images that I have. These images have resulted in tens of thousands of dollars in sales of fine art photographs.

I also supply stock images, which I do not push and have had only a small amount of success.

My photos have been used as stock in Hong Kong and Czechoslovakia. Additionally my work has been used (including for stock) by Leica Camera USA; Bogen Photo/Gitzo (images in their corporate offices); Microsoft; Cymbolic Sciences (maker of the LightJet); Sierra Club; Ever Color Fine Art; and Laser Light Photographics. Additionally, over the years, Fuji Film USA has expressed interest in using several of my images.

In any case, I would appreciate any comments about having this or perhaps several of my Adirondack photos used as Postcards. Do you think that this would damage the sale of my fine art images or do you think that having images that were turned into postcards would be of enough promotional value to aid in further business success.

Thanks for any comments and suggestions.

Rich
    Richard A. Nelridge

http://www.nelridge.com