Thread: using a Daylight Developing Tank

using a Daylight Developing Tank

I am just getting started in 4x5 and am trying to use Kodak TMAX 400 with the TMX RS developer. I am using a HP Daylight Developing Tank from Calumet. The documentation for using this film/developer combination is rather confusing. Nonetheless...I am taking the developer as sold by Kodak and making a 1 gallon solution. I am then making a 1:4 dilution for use as the working solution. I make up 32 oz and keep in a stoppered bottle. It is this solution that I use in the tank and this solution that I replenish (using the orignal 1 gallon stock as a source for the replenisher. I am processing for 8 min at 68 degrees with agitation very 30 seconds. I am running a film speed test, but don't have the results back yet. I have processed some negatives exposed at ASA400 and film them not be very dense, especially compared to my experience with 120 size TriX. I have talked with Kodak and have looked at their website, but this has not helped much.

1)Does it appear that I am using the developer properly? 2)Any advice on using the daylight tank? It seems much easier than open tray or open tanks. What do you use?

I use 1.5 inch ABS plastic pipe to develop 4x5 film. Cut the pipe about 5.5 to 7 inches long and smooth the rough cut ends with fine sandpaper. Curl the film emulsion side inward and stuff one film into one tube. Fill up an 8x10 tray wit h about 800cc of developer - I use developers fairly dilute, one shot - and spin the tubes in the tray in total darkness. Another 8x10 tray for stop and first fix, then I put the films into individual rubbermaid type sandwich trays for the second fix.

The system works well, but only for small quantities of film. I can really deve lop max 5 sheets at one time. I have three different lengths of tube, so I can distinguish different tubes for different developing times in the dark. I tune a shortwave radio to WWV for an audio clock in the dark.