Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    i've upgraded from Ai 6 to studio 6.5, all works well (4990 pro on dual g5) but the multiscan setting gives me super exaggerated colors and contrast that don't show in the preview at all. if i turn it off the result is fine.

    i've asked silverfast directly but no response in 4 days.

    anyone else had success with this feature? it was one of the main reasons i upgraded ...

  2. #2
    Kirk Gittings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, Nuevo Mexico
    Posts
    9,796

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    Strange. When in trouble with SF delete the preferences file.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

    at age 70:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    it didn't work from the start. the preview came up as in the previous AI version, corrections look normal but scan only comes out ok when the multiscan setting is off. the switch is simple on/off so i can't even find settings for that function to try to adjust.

    where is preferences folder for silverfast, don't see it

  4. #4
    Kirk Gittings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, Nuevo Mexico
    Posts
    9,796

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    Sorry, I can't tell you on a Mac in the applications folder under Silverfast somewhere.

    Anyone else use SF with a Mac out there?
    Thanks,
    Kirk

    at age 70:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    there is a file in there called "prefs" but it's empty

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    kirk, are you on 6.5 now? if so have you tried multiscan?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    adding insult to injury i see now lasersoft charged $105 to my credit card while the quoted upgrade price and my receipt clearly show $59.

    anyone want to wish me luck getting this straighened out within the month?

  8. #8
    Kirk Gittings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, Nuevo Mexico
    Posts
    9,796

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    You have the wrong Pref file. There are two if you are making scans it will not be empty. There is one in the App folder and one in the Settings. And again in a Mac ???????

    I am using 6.5 and MS. There are no settings for MS. it is off or on. There is something else going on for sure. Deleting the pref file is the only way to do a global reset. If that doesn't worl, do a clean reinstall not over old app. Good luck. Try posting this question on the SF forums or the Epson scan forums too.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

    at age 70:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    422

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    completely uninstalled and reinstalled both photoshop and silverfast (actually put a whole new photoshop on) and .... same result. i think there's a bug.

    on the silverfast forums there are a couple people reporting unusual problems with super saturated colors after updating to 6.5

  10. #10
    Kirk Gittings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, Nuevo Mexico
    Posts
    9,796

    Re: Silverfast Ai Studio 6.5 and multiscan problems

    Is it only on Mac versions or with particular scanners?
    Thanks,
    Kirk

    at age 70:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •