Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

  1. #1
    lazy retired bum
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lake Oswego, Oregon
    Posts
    264

    Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    I recently switched from Kodak Rapid fixer, with the added hardener for film use, to Ilford Rapid Fix to support a company that still makes enlarging paper and seems to have a commitment to traditional photography. I just found out that the Ilford is a non-hardening fixer. While I handle my film very gently, I'd like to use a hardener. Reviewing the threads on fixer-hardener just confused me. Some said it prolonged the wash, others extolled the "billions" of sheets they'd processed in trays without a scratch even with no hardener. I now develop 4x5 in a Jobo Expert drum and 120 in a Nikkor-style tank.

    I have quite a bit of Kodak hardener, since I never used it when mixing fixer for paper. Does anyone know, or could one of you chemists out there hazard a guess, if I could safely add it to the Ilford product?

    Thanks for any responses.

    Eric

  2. #2
    おせわに なります! Andrew O'Neill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Coquitlam, BC, Canada, eh!
    Posts
    4,632

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    I'm not a chemist but I'm sure it wouldn't be a problem. On another note, I've been using Ilford's Rapid fix for many years for films and papers without any added hardener. I don't develop multiple sheets of film in a tray where you run the risk of scratching, mind you. Why would you want to put in a hardener when fixing paper?? Your wash times are shorter and toning is easier...

  3. #3
    lazy retired bum
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lake Oswego, Oregon
    Posts
    264

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    I have never used hardener when fixing paper, nor does anyone I know, for the reasons cited by Andrew.

    Eric

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Van Buren, Arkansas
    Posts
    1,943

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    While most films these days are pre-hardened, there are still some, such as the Efke/Adox emulsions that are very soft, that using a hardening fixer would be a good thing.

  5. #5
    Steve Gombosi
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    57

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    The Ilford data sheet for Rapid Fixer contains the following statement:

    "ILFORD RAPID FIXER must not be used with fix hardeners."

    I'm not sure why this is.

    Steve

  6. #6
    lazy retired bum
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lake Oswego, Oregon
    Posts
    264

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    Thanks Steve. I went online and looked it up and found the data sheet as well. I probably should have tried that first. I guess I'll be compliant and go with Ilford's recommendations on this one.

    Eric

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Berlin, Wi
    Posts
    1,348

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    Hi Eric,
    Which films do you want to harden??..Evan Clarke

  8. #8
    Steve Gombosi
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    57

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    I emailed ILFORD support and asked them about this. They sent the following response:
    -----------------------------------
    [If you add hardener to our Rapid Fixer you will find that it will precipitate out in the solution and not work. However, we have a very similar product called HYPAM which is a rapid type fixer and can be used with acid hardeners. One we know that works well with Hypam is manufactured by a company in Oklahoma called Alta and sold under the Zonal Pro brand name;

    http://www.altaphotographic.com/zonal.html

    Many large dealers carry this product line.
    --------------------------------------

    I suspect you might be able to use the Kodak hardener with Hypam, but I'd try it with something
    noncritical first .

    Steve
    QUOTE=Eric Brody;256427]Thanks Steve. I went online and looked it up and found the data sheet as well. I probably should have tried that first. I guess I'll be compliant and go with Ilford's recommendations on this one.

    Eric[/QUOTE]

  9. #9
    lazy retired bum
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lake Oswego, Oregon
    Posts
    264

    Re: Kodak hardener in Ilford fixer?

    Thanks Steve and hi Evan,

    I use TMAX 100 and rarely TMAX 400 as my only black and white film. For color snapshots, I shoot digital.

    Eric

Similar Threads

  1. Shelf life of Kodak Rapid Fixer and Ilford Hypo Ch
    By Dennis_6262 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15-Jan-2015, 16:35
  2. Kodak & Lucky Film of China
    By Gerry Harrison in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15-Oct-2008, 06:50
  3. Problem with Kodak Fixer powder
    By Ugo in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-Jun-2005, 12:58
  4. Old Formulas : Film
    By Paul Fitzgerald in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-Mar-2005, 21:31
  5. Shelf life of Kodak Rapid Film Fixer
    By Nguyen "Billy" Kok in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-Jan-2002, 12:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •