Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: daylight tank for 4x5, 4-6 sheets?

3d Visual Effects artist

daylight tank for 4x5, 4-6 sheets?

Hello, I'm new to 4x5 shooting. I develop my black and white film myself with daylight tanks, but I don't yet have anything suitable for my 4x5 sheets.

I'm looking for something that can handle 4-6 sheets. If possible, I'd also like it to not be a very large tank so I don't have to mix a lot of developer.

It has been suggested to me that I try to find something other than the Yankee and (used) Nikkor tanks

Has anyone used the HP Combi tank? Any suggestions? Plastic or metal, doesn't matter to me. I'll be doing relatively short development times (4-5 minutes) so something that has a fairly even development would be nice.

Thanks for any tips or leads!

Re: daylight tank for 4x5, 4-6 sheets?

Have you heard of Unicolor print drums? I use one for my 4x5 development. They are cheap and work fine (when not leaking). Be sure to get a rotating base, too.

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/unicolor/

There are also more expensive and more sophisticated drums for 4x5 film; I am sure someone will suggest using a Jobo drum. I have no experience with those.

I've been using a Jobo 2521 tank with a 2509n reel. I inverted it so it required 1250ml of liquid. I had some problems at the start but things are smooth now.

The reel can hold 6 sheets of film but I only process 4 at a time.

Check my previous posts for more about this.

I can also vouch for the Unicolor drum with motor base.It gives me very even developement with 8x10" film. See the article on the lfphoto.info homepage.

Actually I was rather lucky to find an old SS tank, the reel probably holds more sheets than the drum of chemistry could process but it works. Actually, I still use the Universal tank for medium format ( tall enough for a 4x5 landscape mode) but processing roto drum fashion. OK if you aren't doing alot of shooting at once.