Thread: Technika III revolving back looseness.

Technika III revolving back looseness.

Hi,
    I have a Master Technika III, (the last version: just before the IV). The revolving back is just a tiny bit sloppy in that it doesn't "snap" into place at the four cadinal points quite like it used to. There is only a small bit of play but it could throw the film off horizontal or vertical by a couple of degrees if I am not careful. I understand that the main part of the body is identical to the IV's so the question is..Does anyone out there know how to take the revolving back apart on either model and tighten it up. Clearly there is a round race with spring loaded ball bearings that snap into round indentations at four points, but I am hesitant to start taking too much apart without advice from someone who has been there. I am handy but have the unfortunate habit of taking apart things I cannot put back together.
    Any input would be appreciated.

Re: Technika III revolving back looseness.

Sorry I don't know how to do what you want to do but if you're in the U.S. I'd suggest calling Marflex and seeing what Martin has to say unless someone here can tell you exactly how to do it. Incidentally, your camera is a Technika III, not a Master Technika III. The Master Technika (no numerals) came along a couple decades later.

I'm not sure that the backs and internal parts were the same from the III to the IV but perhaps they were. I do know that the internal parts and mechanism for the back were changed from the V to the Master even though externally the backs appear to be the same and Linhof only supplies the Master internal parts, not the parts for the V and earlier Technikas.
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.