Thread: shen-hao 5x7 + lens = ?

www.lucksucker.com

shen-hao 5x7 + lens = ?

I recently had my camera's stolen, so i need to buy new stuff. I am looking at buying the Shen-Hao FCL57-A (5x7)...which would be my very first 5x7 camera. I have had some basic experience with 4x5's and their movements, but lenses are a mystery to me. I have read that for 5x7 a "standard lens" is 180mm or 210 mm...I think this is where I want to start off. What other considerations do i need to take? I want to stay as cheap as possible...but I also want something that works well. How do I make sure that the lens I get will match up with the lens boards available to the camera? Any good suggestions for a "toyota camry" 5x7 lens to start off with? Thanks for your consideration and patience...I am such a beginner...
    -Andy F.

wfwhitaker

Re: shen-hao 5x7 + lens = ?

You'll get lots of advice. Read the articles at "LF Home Page" linked above and use the search function of the forum to see what posts already exist which may be informative. There are lots and lots of lenses which will serve this format as well as doing double duty for 4x5. There's a Caltar II 240mm just showed up in the classifieds here which would be a good focal length for 5x7. (Usual disclaimers apply; I have no interest, don't know the seller, yada, yada...)

Confidently Agnostic!

If you want to stay as cheap as possible 4x5 is probably going to be considerably less expensive than 5x7. But this isn't what you're asking, so I guess I'm offering unsolicited, unhelpful advice. I can do you one better than the Toyota Camry 5x7 lens suggestion though: I can suggest a mercedes dressed in toyota clothing...err body panels.