Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which lens? fuji or computar? help me decide

Which lens? fuji or computar? help me decide

First of all I am fairly new to large format just under a year since i started. I've slowly put together a LF kit mainly for landscapes, which so far consists of a Wista woodfeild 4x5, 90mm SA f/8, 150mm f/9 DO germiner, 210 computar symmetrigon. I like to keep my lens kit to 3 lenses mostly b/c it's easier to lug it around. The question is about the 210mm (my longer focal length)

I've often wanted something slightly longer than 210mm but have been reluctant to spring for a 300mm b/c of the price+max bellows draw (i'll be at the limit with my wista). However last week i picked up a used Fuji 250mm f/6.3, mainly b/c the price offered was rediculously low for a mint optic. I haven't gotten the time to try it yet. I intend to keep either the fuji or the computar and sell the other. Now i know what your thinking (try it and keep the one you like), and i fully intend to do that. Just wondering if others have used the fuji and how it stacks up.

By the way i shoot almost exclusivly 4x5 velvia right now. I might try my hand at b/w latter on but not right now, and no i don't intend to go 5x7 or above.

Thanks in advance

Re: Which lens? fuji or computar? help me decide

Not that I am an anywhere close to an expert, but have lots of lens, I would recommend the 250mm Fujinon. I have the f6.7 version and love it. I probably use it more than my 240mm f9 Germinar Docter MC lens. For 4x5, I like the angle of view from the 240mm and/or 250mm over the 210mm lens. http://www.apug.org/gallery/showphot...00&ppuser=2399
    Hope you can open this picture tranny I posted on apug using my 250mm Fujinon. Although it is not a super picture, it gives you an idea of what the lens can do.

I would surmise that the two lenses will give you very different "feels/bokeh" of the same subject matter.