Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: full 4x5 image glass negative carrier for Omega D-2?

full 4x5 image glass negative carrier for Omega D-2?

Greetings,

I am new to printing 4x5 and am frustrated by my Omega neg. caariers because they significantly mask the image area around the edges. My 6x6cm and 35mm carriers have been filed out to show beyond the image. I wish to have a glass carrier that would allow the full view. I have inspected my Omega glass and found it to be too small. Perhaps you could help me find anti-newton glass that would be about 4.5x5.5" and then I could grind out the carrier and remount the glass with new screw holes. Any sources for the glass? Or other tips for this task? I appreciate your page very much. Thank you for the whole web site. Peace,

Denis: Are you really sold on glass neg carriers? They offer four extra surfaces for dust to collect on and you will go nuts spotting prints. I print 4x5 negs 90% of the time and have not found the need for a glass neg carrier. Why not get an extra D-2 carrier and file it out to show all the 4x5 neg? To answer your question, I have seen anti-Newton glass advertised in Shutterbug and most of the larger photo equipment dealers should be able to order it for you. I am not trying to tell you how to run your darkroom, but glass negative carriers are a lot of problem to solve a problem that ususally doesn't exist. Most of the time, you can put the neg into the enlarger, turn on the light for a few seconds and wait for the negative to "pop". Then focus and it should stay put.

I'm with Denis. I have a glass 3 1/4x4 1/4 carrier for my D-2, and 35mm for the Leitz V-35. They aren't that hard to keep clean, and sure make it easier to get sharp prints right to the very edge of the negative. There must be 4x5 glass carriers for the D-2 out there; have you checked the Omega catalog?