Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alkaline Fixer - Myths or Reality?

Alkaline Fixer - Myths or Reality?

From what I've heard, around here most folks might say "Fresh Rapid Fix!" or of course, if alt-process that needs a fixer, perhaps "Hypo Crystals!".

There are a couple of manufacturers who tout Alkaline fixer as the key to miraculously short wash times, less curling ( acid process tends to harden and cause curling ) and of course, true archival results. Even without using the companion wash aid, wash times are quite rapid.

Here's one of the products that's on sale:Silvergrain Fix and Wash

It sounds really great. Of course, when reading advertising or claims, who knows what is really great and what is not? Is this fact, fiction or ?

Some of you experts out there might be able to explain possible or known benefits to using alkaline fixer. Does anybody around here use it, swear by it, or know better?

Re: Alkaline Fixer - Myths or Reality?

I've been using TF-4 for a few years now. There is plenty of info on the net about it. It really does offer short fix times and short wash times for archival results. It seems to last a long time in deep tanks. It also reduces toning times. I have no plans to go back to an acid fixer.

I use one because it's more or less oderless.

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

I tried TF-4 and didn't like the smell. So I made my own fixer recipe. It works, it's cheap, and it's odourless.

And it's also (slightly) alkaline.

I won't use acid rapid fixer for anything, except bleaching the highlights of POP prints.

Alkaline fixer do indeed offer shorter washing times (not miraculously short, but roughly equal to acid fixers followed by wash aid), but I don't believe that they offer shorter fixing times.