Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Homemade lens board ?

Homemade lens board ?

Hello LF users,

I am just new to LF and this forum. Have just purchased a Cambo SC-2 on Ebay and a Caltar S-II 210 5.6f lens with Copal #1 shutter. The Cambo came with no lensboard and here lies the meat of my question..as a home woodworker it should be easy to make a lensboard of something like quality birch aircraft ply and a good Forstner bit for the hole..a 1 5/8" bit would come very close with a bit of sanding to fit. Could someone please tell me the thickness of a Cambo lensboard ? Any suggestions or ideas in this area from those who have attempted this would be great..for example do I need a seal around the outside of the board etc. This is my second time to post this question and my first time on the forum..I don't know were the other one went so forgive me if it is out there somewhere. Is there anyone in the on this forum living on Vancouver Island B.C., Canada ?
    Thanks Gerry

Re: Homemade lens board ?

Don't know about the Cambo but in general boards are fairly forgiving. If the hole isn't overly large the lens will fit fine. Various materials work.

Terence

Do a search on this site. There have been many many discussions on this.

Personally, I use a piece of tempered hardboard (masonite) from a cheap clipboard, and two layers of black mat board on the back to provide the light baffle. I make the hole by drilling a series of overlapping holes at the circumference. With many of my old lenses I don't have a proper flange, so I just screw the lens into a tight-fitting hole. Except for large, heavy lenses this works fine.

Masonite!? Shouldn't a "proper" LF lens board be made of laminated Brazilian Rosewood?