Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zone VI Cold Light

Zone VI Cold Light

I have a Zone VI Cold Light head and the stabilizer that I was given several years ago with a 4x5 enlarger. I have never used it just powered it up with the instructions to make sure it worked and it does. I was wondering are these desirable at all and do they have any value?
    Last edited by Kyle M.; 4-Jun-2023 at 01:33.

Re: Zone VI Cold Light

Yes they have value- they are an effective way to have a diffusion light source on your enlarger. I've been using mine for over 30 years.
    A bit of background- the head was actually made by Aristo. Fluorescent lamps of that type have an unfortunate characteristic- their brightness varies with temperature, and they do get warm, and the brightness can fluctuate from minute to minute. This makes enlarging with them frustrating, to say the least.
    The stabilizer's photocell reads the light output and varies the voltage to maintain a constant brightness, removing this issue. IIRC they were available to fit Beseler or Omega enlargers.
    So we don't do valuations on this site- but you have a useful piece of gear there.

I agree with Mark Sampson it is the best light source I have found for Omega DII / D2. It's very useful.

There are 2 electric cords one to the timer, the other runs a built in heater, be sure to unplug the heater when not in use.
    Real cameras are measured in inches...
    Not pixels.

www.photocollective.org

Drew Wiley