Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting a scale for Metolian consistency

Getting a scale for Metolian consistency

After a week of fairly concentrated testing to resolve some film development issues, track down one anomaly, and generally get my processing finally locked down -- an effort occasioned by adapting to my new LED head's different contrast from my previous coldlight, as posted in various threads -- I have finally decided to invest in a gem scale for my Metol measurement. The latest batch from the Formulary has even greater "stickiness" and "lofty" texture than the previous one bought several years ago, though I have silica in the jar with it, and levelling the spoon is chancier. I have been using careful spoon measurements for my D23 for several years, but since it seemed that I might be getting less Metol per measurement now than before, I went downstairs and measured some out on the kitchen digital scale. Instead of (the hoped for) 7-8 grams per 2 Tsp, the scale said 5 . Is the scale accurate in this range? No idea; probably not. Have I been using 5 gms all this time? Again, a question mark. In any case, Metol being a bit like flour-- very compressible -- in baking bread (which I do weigh, since I bake infrequently), the scale will let me sleep better.

I am so tired of testing just to get N-5 to N+3 settled, that the thought of inserting a new variable almost made me reject the idea. But whatever the new scale shows, I can easily adjust my times by percentage once I adjust for N.

I am determined to make 2023 one of making images, not testing! Zum werk -- to the work!
    Last edited by Ulophot; 5-Jan-2023 at 14:05. Reason: not 5 grams each
    Philip Ulanowsky

Sine scientia ars nihil est. (Without science/knowledge, art is nothing.)
    www.imagesinsilver.art
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/156933346@N07/

Re: Getting a scale for Metolian consistency