Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on IQsmart2 vs. 3

Opinions on IQsmart2 vs. 3

Hi folks,

I am a hobbyist shooter on 120, mostly b/w negatives which I enjoy developing myself, and I am considering upgrading from my V850 scanner. I will perhaps keep the V850 as it offers digital ICE for the occasional roll of C41 I shoot. After much reading I have narrowed it down to the IQsmart2 or 3 as I don't like the price/performance of the Imacons, and I don't want to deal with anything bigger/heavier than the IQsmart2/3 (I live in a small studio).

While I am aware of the differences in their resolution, scan speed, and lack/availability of digital transparency, I am less clear on what that means in the final scan. Unfortunately, the scan comparison page does not have a scan for the IQsmart2, so I am only left with a handful of user opinions and since quality is subjective it is no wonder that there is some disagreement.

1. Does anyone have an apples to apples comparison between the IQsmart2 and IQsmart3?
    2. What is the main impact of not being able to scan into a DT file? If I scan at 16 bit, don't clip shadows/highlights, save as a lossless TIFF, does DT make any difference? What is "baked" into the TIFF that is not baked into the DT?
    3. How would I go about finding someone who would scan one of my negatives on an IQsmart2, so I could compare their file to one of my own scans? I will happily pay for this service.
    4. Have any IQsmart2 users regretted not getting the IQsmart3?

Many thanks in advance.

Re: Opinions on IQsmart2 vs. 3

2. What is the main impact of not being able to scan into a DT file? If I scan at 16 bit, don't clip shadows/highlights, save as a lossless TIFF, does DT make any difference? What is "baked" into the TIFF that is not baked into the DT?