Thread: Linhof vs Arca Swiss lens boards

Linhof vs Arca Swiss lens boards

Hi all,

I've bought an Arca Swiss Metric 5x4 camera and with 141mm front. I plan to buy an adapter to leave on the front so that I can use smaller lens boards for easier storage. I'm tossing up between arca swiss 110mm adapter or the Linhof 99mmx96mm adapter. Advantages to the linhof are its slightly smaller for storage and the Chamonix C45F-2 uses them which I potentially plan to buy in the future for multi day trips wher weight is a factor. Only advantage to arca I can see is that they are 4 way symmetrical and so maybe easier to use? I'm new to 5x4 though so please correct me if I'm wrong!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tom

Re: Linhof vs Arca Swiss lens boards

You can find an adapter from almost any camera to Linhof Technika. I recommend Technika.

I started with Canham 110x110 boards. I don't see any advantage for them over Technika other than I don't need an adapter to put them on my Canham camera.

Good luck,
    jeff

What lenses will be used with the Linhof Technika lens boards?

Yes they are smaller, trade-offs enforce what lenses can be used.. The Linhof Technika lens boards are easier to get, can be lower cost with more variety than the 110mm Arca Swiss. If a recessed 110mm Arca Swiss lens board is needed, they are not as common or low cost compared to the Linhof Technika recessed lens boards.

Before considering lens boards, consider lenses...

Previous mention of using lenses up to 300mm, here are a few.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	~300mm:12%22 lens set.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	52.2 KB 
ID:	231561

Top left, Schneider 360mm f5.5 Tele Xenar, Copal# 3 shutter. next over 300mm f5.6 Schneider Symmar S has a 105mm filter size. This one is in Sinar DBM mount, they are often found in a# 3 shutter. Like the one used with the 360mm f5.5 Tele Xenar.