Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Korona 4x5 Quandary

Korona 4x5 Quandary

Hello all, I recently acquired an old Korona 4x5 unit, and am having some issues with it. I must preface all this by saying I am a Graflex SLR shooter, and I have no experience in the world of view cameras. This camera practically fell into my lap, and I figured I'd have some fun with it for what it was worth. After I got the camera, I did some basic things to make it light tight and re-plated some corroded fittings on the focusing rack. I have a big Volute shutter on it as of now. While it isn't perfect and has some issues, it works well enough. The only other unusual part about the setup is that I am using plate mags despite the fact that I am shooting film. The camera came with 2 plate mags, and I have just been taping the film to the mag under a safelight so that it will stay flat and secure in the holder. All that aside, the issue is that despite my best efforts on focusing, I get some very strange blurring on images. Specifically, the center of any given image is completely out of focus, while the edges are crisp and defined. At first I though it was he result of the lens, so I slapped the lens on my Press Graflex and tested it with both the internal and focal plane shutter. That yielded no such focal anomalies, leaving me quite perplexed. Attached below are a couple links to scanned examples from both the Korona and the Press Graflex. I tried to use the forum image system, but it compressed the images very harshly, to the point of details being unrecognizable. Any input or suggestions for solving this issues would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Tyg...ew?usp=sharing
    If you look at the grass in the foreground or the hedge about center, you can see how as you go from edge to center the grass becomes less focused.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1eh2...ew?usp=sharing