Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: float frames for alt prints?

float frames for alt prints?

I happened to run across some Youtube videos of watercolorists who use float frames to display their work, and they began by using an adhesive to glue the paper to panels made of thin birch plywood (or else a prefab "cradle.")

Given that alt prints can use even heavier watercolor paper, would it be possible to mount, say, a Pt/Pd print to a wooden panel in the same way? I'm imagining that mottling from the adhesive bleeding through to the paper's surface might be a problem, but am curious if anyone's tried it.

Any thoughts appreciated...

Robert Bowring

Re: float frames for alt prints?

I am not an expert about this but it seems to me that "gluing" any art work to anything would not be a good idea.

There is special methods with archival materials to do the back mounting, not using traditional glues.