Thread: Recommendations for tripod head for Shen-Hao HZX45-iia

Recommendations for tripod head for Shen-Hao HZX45-iia

Hello:

I'm brand new to the LF Forums (and to LF photography). I recently purchased a kit that includes the Shen Hao HZX45-iia 4x5 camera with 3 lenses (all Schneider: 58mm f5.6; 120mm f8; 210mm f5.6) and an assortment of miscellaneous items. I'm thinking of purchasing a used Gitzo tripod - one that supports 40-50 lbs. This might be overkill, but I'd rather be sure it will support this setup, and perhaps a heavier setup in the future.

I've read that a geared head (rather than ball head) is more useful for LF cameras. First, what type of head would you recommend for my setup? If you recommend a geared head, which one(s) would you recommend?

Thank you for your input,
    Steve

Foamer

Re: Recommendations for tripod head for Shen-Hao HZX45-iia

A 3-way head is most useful for a light camera like yours. While the load rating won't have to be very high, what does help is to have a large QR plate or contact surface. The more contact surface the better to dilute vibrations.

Kent in SD
    In contento ed allegria
    Notte e di vogliam passar!

I'm afraid I can't comment on geared heads, but many of us, not all, do prefer to avoid ball heads for LF. Gitzo is a top-quality brand, certainly, and purchasing a tripod inadequate for your camera/lens is poor economy. However, I wonder if you really need to consider the 50- to 60-lb capacity you mention. It may depend on where you intend to be photographing, and what, and whether you're thinking of going to 8x10 eventually.