Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

  1. #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Posts
    10

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    The M1 mini is a good choice, I opted for the 1TB hard drive. I've been using it for over a year now for professional workflow with no issues at all- M1 is a game changer in terms of processing power -The Adobe suite is optimized for the system and it works amazingly well. I'm using larger files on a daily basis with no issues in LR classic and PS. C1 is now optimized for apple silicon but I have no hands on experience with it. Ari suggested a dock/hub which will be necessary for peripherals - the mini is limited in ports ( I chose the OWC hub @ $300 ) to keep the max transfer speeds from Thunderbolt 4 and a built in card reader etc. The Studio has this connectivity built in so the price difference is a bit less if you need a capable hub/dock. Mini w hub @ $1600 vs the Studio @ $2000 - with more memory, and better processor. I would choose the Studio if I was buying today. The Intel macs are a step backwards IMO. My recollection was that Rosetta only needed to be installed once and worked in the background with the Intel programs - I ran LR for 2 months with Rosetta as it wasn't optimized for M1 when I first got the machine. It was still much faster than my old mac.
    www.brucekatzphoto.com

    Original join date 2008...

  2. #12
    Tin Can's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    18,961

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Vuescan has an upgrade file for Mac Chips
    Tin Can

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Forest Grove, Ore.
    Posts
    4,146

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Having thought about this purchase from multiple directions, I'm leaning towards the Mac Mini M1 with 512 Gigabyte SSD Memory, and 16 Megabytes of Unified Memory.

    The latest PS does very well with this configuration. Capture One '22 has also been optimized for the latest OSX, which of course will be resident on the new machine. I'll need to acquire a Capture One license, but there's no charge for owners of Phase One backs. The only software that's in doubt is i1 Profiler. But, there may even be an upgrade path through Calibrite, the company that currently owns the software.

    It's been quite a journey. I thought hard about a Microsoft system. But given my past affinity for Apple, and in spite of Apple's embedded obsolescence, I couldn't bring myself to tread that path. Again, thanks for all the advice and insights that have been offered along the way. Otherwise, I think that I'd still be lost.

  4. #14
    Unwitting Thread Killer Ari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    6,274

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Neil, I have the same M1 Mini, 512Gb HD and 16Gb RAM. Just bought in January.
    The i1 Studio and i1 Display profilers work just fine, as does the SpyderX Pro.
    I also have zero issues with LR and PS, but I can't speak to C1. Third-party plug-ins also work seamlessly.

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,362

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Neil,

    X-Rite updated i1Profiler for M1 Macs last spring. I've only had an M1 Mac for 10 days, but so far I'm seeing no issues with i1Profiler and my Eizo monitor.

    I use Capture One but I haven't run into the bug that PetaPixel talks about in a March 17th article titled Apple Mac Studio with M1 Ultra: Insane Power for the Price. I don't import large numbers of photos at a time, and in any event I use Photo Mechanic for imports. Anyway, here's what PetaPixel says:

    As we noted in our review of the MacBook Pro last year, there is a known bug in Capture One on M1 computers. Import times of Phase One files are notably worse than on comparable machines, and that doesn’t change with the M1 Ultra and this latest version of Capture One. While it is about ten seconds faster, it’s still more than a minute behind the Threadripper PC and significantly slower than the top-performing PC laptops.

    Capture One is aware of the issue but hasn’t been able to provide a timeline for when a fix should be expected. The company does note that the design of the application does not necessitate waiting for all previews to be generated, however, since they will generate in the background. Still, it doesn’t look great in benchmarking.
    Arca-Swiss 8x10/4x5 | Mamaya 7II | Leica M3, M240 | Blackmagic Pocket 4K
    Mac Studio/27" Eizo | Capture One | Final Cut Pro X | DaVinci Resolve

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Forest Grove, Ore.
    Posts
    4,146

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ari View Post
    Neil, I have the same M1 Mini, 512Gb HD and 16Gb RAM. Just bought in January.
    The i1 Studio and i1 Display profilers work just fine, as does the SpyderX Pro.
    I also have zero issues with LR and PS, but I can't speak to C1. Third-party plug-ins also work seamlessly.
    All excellent!

    Yeah, I feel confident that I'm going in the right direction.

    I just ordered yesterday, and I'll pick up my Mac Mini a week from Friday.

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Forest Grove, Ore.
    Posts
    4,146

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    Quote Originally Posted by r.e. View Post
    Neil,

    X-Rite updated i1Profiler for M1 Macs last spring. I've only had an M1 Mac for 10 days, but so far I'm seeing no issues with i1Profiler and my Eizo monitor.

    I use Capture One but I haven't run into the bug that PetaPixel talks about in a March 17th article titled Apple Mac Studio with M1 Ultra: Insane Power for the Price. I don't import large numbers of photos at a time, and in any event I use Photo Mechanic for imports. Anyway, here's what PetaPixel says:

    As we noted in our review of the MacBook Pro last year, there is a known bug in Capture One on M1 computers. Import times of Phase One files are notably worse than on comparable machines, and that doesn’t change with the M1 Ultra and this latest version of Capture One. While it is about ten seconds faster, it’s still more than a minute behind the Threadripper PC and significantly slower than the top-performing PC laptops.

    Capture One is aware of the issue but hasn’t been able to provide a timeline for when a fix should be expected. The company does note that the design of the application does not necessitate waiting for all previews to be generated, however, since they will generate in the background. Still, it doesn’t look great in benchmarking.
    Thanks for all the information that you've provided in this thread. It's been very helpful.

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    College Park MD
    Posts
    70

    Re: Mac Mini Configuration to Run Adobe Products?

    I have been using the Mac Mini M1, 16 GB RAM and 1T SSD, since last year. Works well with Photoshop, Light Room, Affinity Photo, DxO Photolab and Vuescan. It also works with my Nikon 8000, (with two adapters) and my Epson V850. Not much to complain about. I still have my trusty MacPro 5,1s which keep on ticking but are getting close to the end, maybe. The old MacPros in my un-scientific testing seem to run PhotoShop only slightly slower to about half as fast for a given task.

Similar Threads

  1. Lens Configuration
    By Jim Fitzgerald in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16-Jul-2014, 16:07
  2. Plasticca lens configuration
    By dlin in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-May-2012, 05:15
  3. Unknown lens configuration
    By swmcl in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 6-Jan-2010, 10:26
  4. Configuration of a Planar 135/3.5?
    By Phil Hudson in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15-Apr-2009, 03:14
  5. macro configuration for maximum DOF
    By scott russell in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 8-Aug-2008, 07:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •