Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whar are the implications of using a thicker ground glass than is standard?

Late Adopter

Whar are the implications of using a thicker ground glass than is standard?

I am going to create a new GG for my recent find, a half plate field camera from around 1900.

I have measured the current glass as being 1.5mm thick and wondered what the impact would be if I was to replace it with a 2mm or even 3mm thick piece of glass?

I appreciate it will require slight adjustment of the metal glass holders but I am more interested in the effect on accurate focusing. Am I right in thinking that I would be focusing forward of the image plane by the additional 0.5 or 1.5mm?

I am very new to LF so I may not have grasped this correctly.

Thanks.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_094539.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	48.1 KB 
ID:	223105Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20220105_094506.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	34.7 KB 
ID:	223106Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20211223_212253.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	55.6 KB 
ID:	223107

Re: Whar are the implications of using a thicker ground glass than is standard?

The frosted/ground/matt glass is forward so focus will stay in place.

Unless of course the frosted glass is backwards and still calibrated to give correct focus, then every touch and fingers would have left a print or a scratch, and you would have wanted to turn it already.

Sent fra min SM-G975F via Tapatalk

Late Adopter

Quote Originally Posted by Oslolens View Post

Unless of course the frosted glass is backwards and still calibrated to give correct focus, then every touch and fingers would have left a print or a scratch, and you would have wanted to turn it already.

Thank you.

I might be able to get a piece of Borosilicate Glass to replace the piece that is in, it's a little more expensive. In your opinion is it worth it to spend about 25% more on this over plate glass?
    Last edited by moggi1964; 6-Jan-2022 at 06:16.