Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: High Lights scanning problem

High Lights scanning problem

Hello all,

I am fairly new to scanning and encountering problems with high lights.

I am using a Epson V850 Pro scanner, Silverfast 8.8 software to scan 4x5 Tri X negatives in Grey scale 16 bit. Many of my negatives are high contrast with highlights that show detail (just) in the neg and print OK in the darkroom giving a good strong print.

I run the pre scan, go to the histogram to adjust each side to the limits of the histogram - but I find that the right side slider cannot be adjusted sufficiently to bring the high lights down. So effectively blown out...? Once scanned, I can bring the high lights down in the editing software (Affinity) but just end up with a light grey tone which is flat and not a good look.

Appreciate any comments on what I may be doing incorrectly or is the just the limitation of the scanner / software?

Thank you
    Peter

Re: High Lights scanning problem

I am no scanning expert, but with SilverFast I scan negatives using the HDR Raw output, I then deal with the curve in post, in my case CaptureOne, which offers far better control then SF.

I look at scanning as catching raw data, meaning setting no limits in white and black, acquiring the full scanner range. Or at least leaving an ample headroom not trying to optimize the white and black point .
    Post scanning I do all the processing, either in Capture One or Photoshop

16-bit, or perhaps more accurate 12 to 14-bits for most scanners, is enough for stretching and cutting the levels. Anyway, that's what the scanner program is doing anyway.
    Lasse Thomasson | Instagram

Quote Originally Posted by 12pmc View Post
    Appreciate any comments on what I may be doing incorrectly or is the just the limitation of the scanner / software?