Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fully manual spot meters

Fully manual spot meters

I'm fairly new at LF photography, and I'm getting ready to purchase a spot meter. Coming from
    the 35mm world, I want to get a spot meter that i can operate in full manual mode. That is, I want to be able to set my aperature and set my shutter speed(and ISO of course), then depress the meter button and get a reading on an analog type scale -2 -1 0 +1 +2 (such as the ones on 35mm screen), with an indication of exposure. That way i can keep my aperature/shutter speed combination, and meter around my entire scene, seeing where each area falls on the tonal scale. That being said, which spot meters offer such a metering mode that resembles this type of "35mm manual" mode. Thanks all.

Adam

Fully manual spot meters

I don't know of any meters that do that. All of the meters that I have used do one of two things: require you to set a shutter speed and it will read out iris stops or vice versa, read out in EVs.

I doubt you'll find one that works like you want.

Fully manual spot meters

Yeah, just carry your favorite DSLR with you and use that as your meter.

The Leicaflex SL has a dandy spot meter actually!

Most people here, myself included, will point you towards really manual meters, like the Pentax Digital Spot or the Metered Light mini-spot meter, both of which are excellent and much-loved by LF photographers.

Fully manual spot meters

Adam, the available models display their readings in a variety of ways, and you may find one that you prefer. I don't think you'll find a separate meter that mimics the null-centered analog bar scale you'll find in most current SLRs. But if you know enough about metering to understand how to use that bar scale, you shouldn't have any trouble learning how to use any of the separate meters to do the sort of measurement you want.

Fully manual spot meters

Adam,