Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Does extending the center column accomplish the same thing as front rise?

Does extending the center column accomplish the same thing as front rise?

I've been feverishly shopping for a new lens and thinking a lot about how much rise I can squeeze out of the image circle on certain lenses. Because of this, I've come to desire the lens with the biggest image circle.

But now I'm wondering: if the bigger image circle only gets me 9mm of extra rise and costs me $200 more, can I get the cheaper lens and make up for the 9mm with 9mm of center column extension? In my mind there's no difference...but I'm not an optical engineer. I just like taking pictures.

The two lenses in question are the Fujinon CM-W 135mm f/5.6 (214mm image circle) and the Rodenstock Sironar-N 135mm f/5.6 (200mm image circle)

Any help would be appreciated!

Re: Does extending the center column accomplish the same thing as front rise?

No -- a center column does not change the relationship between the lens and the film...just lifts both up in the air equally. "Rise" functions by changing the vertical relationship between the two (film/lens)...one higher/lower than the other.

Will you need a lot of rise? This depends much on your subject matter.

You can increase the functional amount of rise of most view camera by tilting the camera up and making both standards vertical...but one's lens has to still cover.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

Hmm...

I understand why convergence is corrected with rise but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around why it's different then raising the camera.

I just shoot landscapes but I find shift/rise/fall great for fine tuning the composition when I don't place my tripod perfectly.

Raise the center column reduces the stability of the tripod/tripod head supporting the camera. While easy to raise the center column it is a trade off at best.