Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unique/ lesser known portrait lenses

Unique/ lesser known portrait lenses

Occasionally deviating from landscape photography I like to try portraits when the opportunity presents itself. I'm pretty new to 4x5 and I currently am running a budget setup of a Calumet cc400 equip with a 6 3/8" (161mm) Kodak Anastigmat. I already have some sharp "modern" lenses for my Mamiya medium format systems so I figured that I'd take the opportunity of exploring the openness of large format to find a vintage lens with a unique "look" to it just for fun.

Given the huge plethora of lenses out there with sometimes minimal information online about their characteristics, I was hoping this community might have some suggestions to look at. Ideally a more "budget" lens if such a thing exists. A nicer camera with modern lenses may be something for a later point.

Re: Unique/ lesser known portrait lenses

As soon as we on this forum recomend a lens

It goes up on eBay, FB, etc
    Tin Can

(Shrek)

Your current lens is an uncoated Tessar, a clone (I think) of my personal favorite, the Bausch & Lomb Tessar. Predecessor of the Commercial Ektar, which was used for some of the most iconic portraits ever. I suggest you get a longer one (10in should be ideal).

If you start with the classic portrait lenses like the eidoscopes, dallmeyer portraits, veritos, etc, you'll have a lot of fun and spend a lot of money. For something obscure, try the voigtlander hemi-anastigmat.

Sent from my LM-G900 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Tin Can View Post
    As soon as we on this forum recomend a lens

It goes up on eBay, FB, etc
    So glad Mr. "Plungercam" didn't sell any of his stuff.

Not sure if anyone remembers him. He did some mods on his Hassy lenses and called it "Plungercam". This was about ohhhh 20 years ago?