Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Notched Film Holders, Examples

Notched Film Holders, Examples

Hello to the group.

So I'm looking onto notching my film holders for the sake of better organizing my process... I'm keeping notes that exist in a Airtable DB that seems to work, so far... but as it stands, and because I am still very new to 4x5 I'm doing a lot of bracketing and safety images... I've yet to become comfortable enough with the overall process, to just shoot one exposure in a location/setup so my notes... currently have this sticking point...

From what I've read here and other places, I like the idea of a roman numeral notching pattern, but I'm wondering what it will actually look like in the end... and all iterations of this conversation that I've found either never had images of the end result or the images have long expired... So I was hoping that someone here would be so kind as to show what the notches could look like? Mainly because I'm having a hard time visualizing an end result and also because I'm a little nervous of permanently altering a light tight device...

Thanks so much.

Re: Notched Film Holders, Examples

All my holders are full of film right now, so can't send a photo. Notching holders is easier than it sounds. I use a very small triangular to make a groove about 1 to 2 mm deep. Use the left side for 5 and 10, the right side for 1-5
    So a groove on the left at the 5 spot and another at the right at the 2 spot would be holder 7. Mark the spots on a card or piece of paper so you can compare negative later

X X X X X X
    5 10 1 2 3 4

My apologies, the issue I’m having is visualizing the effect on the film…

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I use binary code for my notches.